Author Topic: My recent strange(and cheap) acquisition. Anyone know something about air tanks?  (Read 1897 times)

Offline MadCatTLX

• The Beast
This last Saturday I was at a huge auction with my dad and I bought these (supposedly old fire fighting) air tanks(3), harnesses(3), and masks(9). The auction was in a huge field so all the stuff was sitting outside for at least a couple days prior to the auction itself. The day of the auction it rained a couple times, though I had bought them and got them in my dads truck before the worst of the rain. I'm going to say now I have no experience with air tanks, whether underwater or on land.

Full picture

Tanks, one came with a "free" harness(it was attached when I bought it, hence why I picked it out of the pile).

Two harnesses

Masks

Two of the tanks are aluminum, the other is composite. The composite is a Surviair brand according to the worn and peeling sticker. The two empty harnesses are Survivair Sigmas. I don't know what brand or model the one attached to the air tank is. All nine masks are also Survivair sigmas. At the bottom of the box of masks I found a PASS device.

I looked the Sigma model up online and it said they were not fire rated, so what these were actually used for is a mystery to me.

I checked the dates on the composite tank and the oldest I saw was '99(test sticker), so it should still be good right? The black connection piece on four of the masks have chips missing out of them, so I assume that they are either useless for anything other than looks or need that piece replaced.