Author Topic: Vox Day: I don't put women in video games.  (Read 8545 times)

Offline the_ignored

• Bishop
    • Skeptic Friends Network
Vox Day: I don't put women in video games.
« on: February 22, 2014, 04:31:37 am »
Vox Day is about to make a video game with no female characters...for realism!  What kind of game? 

Read on:
http://manboobz.com/2014/02/19/vox-day-my-orc-and-troll-fighting-game-wont-have-any-women-in-it-because-that-wouldnt-be-historically-accurate/

Or his own site:
http://voxday.blogspot.com/2014/02/why-we-dont-put-girls-in-games.html
I am a game designer. I am designing and producing a game that does not, and will not, have a single female character in it. This is not because I am misogynistic. This is not because I do not women to play the game. This is because putting women in the game makes no sense, violates the principle of the suspension of disbelief, and will not make the game any better as a game.

I am the lead designer of First Sword, a combat management game. The game has orcs and men, elves and dwarves. It has goblins and trolls. But it has no women.

He goes on:
Putting women in the game would be an act of brutal sadism, an act of barbarism even by pagan Roman standards. While the Romans did occasionally put female gladiators in the arena, they were there as a comedic act.

Isn't Vox the same guy who came up with "hypotheticals" where honor killings benefit women?  This link goes to the fstdt site.  It will have a link to his own site so you can see the context.
How do honor killings benefit women?

Because female promiscuity and divorce are strongly correlated with a whole host of social ills, from low birth and marriage rates to high levels of illegitimacy.

I am assuming that he's not actually serious; even so:  To not put women in video games because it's too vicious, while talking about this shit above is insane.

Offline SpaceProg

• What you read is what you get.
  • The Beast
  • Nocturnal